Insteon I/O Linc for Garage

Posted: January 14, 2009 in General, Hardware setup
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hurray, My I/O linc arrived on Saturday 10th!!!

The good news is that its setup and in place.  Setup was a breeze since I’m literally replacing two X10 products for one.  I love it!

So the wiring is the same

Here is my Garage contact I purchased separately before, now as part as a kit.

Installed

Since the top part is so light I ended up using Velcro so I didn’t need to drill holes.

Now the I/O Link

Here are the official instructions

As for the hook-up its very straight forward and the on-line manual has a very good description of this.  My recommendation is use the individual strands of a CAT 5 cable, they fit perfect.

Here i’ve connected in my garage door sensor. (Click to magnify) – Green cables

Below I’ve connected my ‘momentary’ switch to the back of the garage opener. (You do have to setup your I/O linc to do the momentary relay before which is the “C” setup).

This is done by pressing the ‘SET” button 3 times x 3 times for a total of 9 times. Double check on-line just to be sure.

Orange is my Open/Close wires to the Garage and the green are my sensors

Here is the box setup next to the Garage opener.  Since there is no space for the I/O linc I had to set it up next to the opener.  Plus I didn’t want to put it flush with the device since it vibrates a lot.

Now each time the device Open’s I get the “11 FF” message and when it closes the “13 FF” message. But i still haven’t figured out
how to read the sensor yet.  Once I get those details I’ll post part 2.

Here is how the linking process works.  It’s done both ways (like a 3-way switch)

* If you want to monitor the garage  status AND use a keylink button you NEED to link then both ways,

1.First open your garage door.

2.Starting linking your I/O link to the KeyLink Key or switch

3.to have the switch control your garage then Link Keylink key and then then I/O.

4. This way when you press the key it open/closes as well as the button lights up when you open the door and close it. 🙂

Here are the official instructions

Leave a Reply

