My first Insteon Motion Sensor 2420M

Posted: February 1, 2009 in General, Hardware setup, Software Setup
Tags: , , , , ,

Finally my first Insteon Motion sensor arrived!.  The box is average size and has a pretty big label showing SkyLinc and SmartHome technologies.

Out of the box, cool white color.

The device even comes with its own 9V battery so you can start up quickly.  Linking is the done the same was a other devices.

Like most of the Insteon device it has its traditional SET button, In this case the ‘SET” button is inside the battery compartment.

Which also houses the ‘dip’ switch for fine tuning of the device.  I’ve set mine to not show the LED which is a very BIG led. (I tell you what they are for below the image)
For this reason you can see the PIN #2 is on all others are ‘off’ which are not connected or on the top.

According the the 1 page (What looks like a photocopy) the pins are used for the following

Dip Switches

1.Sensitivity, enable to reduce the sensor 33%

2.Turn of LED (It will still flash if there is a incorrect link or the device you link too has been removed.

3.Night-only mode – Only operate when dark

4.On-Only mode, so it doesn’t tell you when the device hasnt seen movement in 1 minute.

5.Not Used.

The linking was very simple, press the link button and press the link of the device you want to turn on/off.  In my case its the PLC so I can see the ON (0x11) and OFF (0x13) commands and act accordingly.    

I haven’t found any way to change the default re-transmition time which is 1 minute, so unlike the Eagle eye which transmits every 10 seconds, this will only t ransmit if the status changes for example from ON to OFF.  So this means if you have movement in the area you will only see ONE – ON command until one minute after when there is no movement. You wont get a message each minute.    Also there is no way to poll the device, but it does seem to have already hard coded its ‘address’.  So its considered a device which status changes from On for occupied to OFF to no motion detected in 1 min.

Among my findings the RANGE is great!. In my case I have 4 access points so even in the back yard the reception is great!.  The white color is a plus, fits in anywhere , this was something I never understood with the eagle eye’s. (brown) Plus includes its own mointing kit which you can swivel the device.  I used double side tape before using the screws this way I can find the best spot before making it permanent.

Here is the VB/SDM strings which come in when the sensor is activated

02 11 8C F0 00 00 01 CB 13 01 - Which is for OFF (No motion for 1 min)
02 11 8C F0 00 00 01 CB 13 01 - Which is for On (Motion)

02 11 8C F0 00 00 01 CB 11 02 - Which is for Dusk start / Dawn end (Dark for 3 Minutes)
02 11 8C F0 00 00 01 CB 13 02 - Which is for Dusk end start / Dawn Start?

More Pics

Mounting Kit not shown.

I placed my first Insteon Sensor in the top middle hallway, and covers the two corners perfectly,
I quickly removed the two eagle Eye’s I had…


Comments
  1. Peter says:

    Nice review, very thorough. A couple questions come to mind: Does it have to be 1 minute, or can the time be adjusted? Second, how defined is the bottom cutoff – I ask because we have pets and most alarm motion sensors can be set so anything shorter than 2 feet tall won’t set it off… Hoping this is the same!

    Cheers,
    Peter

    • lgarcia4617 says:

      At the moment i havent figured out the way to change it from 1 min, Which is good and bad depending on your use. The X10 sensors send updates each 10 seconds!!!

      For Pets (like me). I have found also that its a bad idea to put them on the top of the wall pointing down, instead i’ve put them more in the middle of the wall pointing forward. You can also ‘enable’ one of the jumpers to turn down the sensitivity.

      • lgarcia4617 says:

        Update: The new version of this device has a internal POT which you can adjust the time.

  2. JD says:

    Wireless Insteon devices don’t respond to signals unless they’re in linking mode, so polling a motion sensor wouldn’t be possible.

    HL 2 allows changing the off time from 30 seconds to 2 hours, and also adjust the LED intensity, and sensitivity to surrounding light for the dark-only mode. Probably these are extended codes and the sensor needs to be in linking mode to set them. I would venture a guess that you use the Extended Set/Get commands. Send an extended command with Command1 = 0x2E, command2 = 0x00, all the data bytes = 0x00 (D1 = 0x00 typically means “Data Request”) and see what you get back. That is, if your PLC is 01.02.03, and your motion sensor is 04.05.06, send a raw extended message

    01 02 03 04 05 06 0F 2E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Just so it’s clear how I’m talking about the extended bytes, that breaks down into:

    Sender(3bytes) Receiver(3bytes) Flag Cmd1 Cmd2 D1 D2 D3 D4 D5 D6 D7 D8 D9 D10 D11 D12 D13 D14

    You should get a data response back with D2 = 0x01 and the various settings in D3 – D14 (D1 is usually the button/group number, probably not relevant here?). On the KeypadLinc, D9 in the response is the overall LED brightness setting. In the relay timer, D4 is the on-time, could be the same here. D5 and D6 seem to typically be the X10 address (house and unit respectively; D5 = 0x20 means no X10 address).

    Typically to set it, you would send Extended Set/Get with D2 = a value higher than 0x02 depending on what you are trying to set, and D3 = the value you are trying to set it to. E.g. to set the LED brightness on a KeypadLinc, you send the command with D2 = 0x07 and D3 = the brightness (in the range 0x11-0x7F in that case). To set the X10 address, you send D2 = 0x04 with the house and unit codes in D3 and D4.

    Play around, I bet you can figure it out. I don’t have a motion sensor or I’d try it myself. At worst you can always factory reset. 🙂

    • lgarcia4617 says:

      You know I tried with the PLC and didnt have luck sending the extended messages, Btw saw your site great stuff. I just recently got my PLM and hopefully migrate to it.

  3. lgarcia4617 says:

    I guess thats my weekend project. !

    Thanks!

  4. Richard says:

    I cannot this motion sensor using my Universal Devices ISY 99. Any ideas how to add it to my setup?

Leave a Reply

